Database Guide & Login Information
  • Databases are a collection of digital resources including newspapers, magazines, book segments, reference materials, images, video and audio clips, maps, charts graphs, dictionaries and more. 
  • Databases are an excellent place to find research sources because each resource has been vetted. This means the information you find there is reliable. 
  • Many of our databases integrate with Google allowing you to save articles to your Drive. Most databases also provide MLA source citation, so you can easily cite your research sources.
Research Databases
Picture
 ​​
Provides easy-to-read factual information on many topics.
​Remote password: sbsd 
​Tutorial
 Picture





​Provides information on countries 
Username:sbunified
Password:sbunified1!
Tutorial 

 Picture





Provides US State information 
Username:sbunified
Password:sbunified1!
​Tutorial
Provides a range of information and features informative articles, media, world atlas, country comparisons, tour of the USA and biographies 
Britannica School
Library Catalogs & Reading Databases
All the great content of Britannica School in Spanish!  
Britannica Escolar
​Tutorial ​​​
Picture





​
​How to log in to your school's Destiny Discover Library Catalog:
1. Click on your school link.
2. In the left menu, click on Destiny Discover.
3. Log in (upper right hand corner of screen)
           Username: student ID number
           Password: 6-digit birthday 
           (Example April 1, 2006 = 040106)
4. Use search filters to find books of interest and to place books on hold. 
5. Need help finding a book just right for you? Fill out the "My Wishlist" survey so we can get to know your interests and suggest some books for you to try.
​Video Tutorial 
​
 Picture



​
​
​The Santa Barbara Public Library provides free physical books, online ebooks, audio books, magazines, film and languages including Hoopla, Enki, Overdrive/Libby, rb digital, Kanopy & Mango language databases.
Magazines -->
ebooks & audio books
​
Tales2go is an audio book service streaming over 10,000 titles for K12 students and believes that every student can achieve reading proficiency through repeated exposure to spoken sophisticated words i.e., vocabulary and fluency = a key component of reading proficiency.
​
Log in: Teachers and students  can access Tales2Go by logging into Clever  or from the iPad application available in Self Service.
 Picture







​Epic! provides ebooks in English and Spanish along with a range of teacher/parent resources. Teachers create an account and invite students to Epic!
​ Tutorial
Storytime with Ryan & Craig is a free, short-form reading show for children, parents & educators. Every week, Ryan and Craig read aloud a new children’s book.
Picture

​



​Search for a books, authors, trailers, interviews, readings, lessons and more!
Username: sbunified
Password: sbunified
Tutorial
​
Digital Citizenship Databases
Two programs that address online student safety behaviors.
​Common Sense Media (thematic lessons as well as other parent supports ex. film, game, book reviews) &
​ Google Interland (interactive thematic game)